waltercampThe Walter Camp Football Foundation  has released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Walter Camp Award, which is presented to the nation’s most outstanding college football player.

The Walter Camp Award is named after Walter Camp, who is consider “The Father of American Football.” Camp played at Yale from 1877 to 1882 and is credited with creating many strategy features which led to the development of the organized game, according to the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Walter Camp Award preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Dri Archer RB Kent State Venice
Teddy Bridgewater QB Louisville Miami Northwestern
Rakeem Cato QB Marshall Miami Central
Amari Cooper WR Alabama Miami Northwestern
Duke Johnson RB Miami (FL) Miami Norland
Aaron Murray QB Georgia Plant
Louis Nix III DE Notre Dame Raines
Sammy Watkins WR Clemson South Fort Myers