Gainesville, Fla. — The Florida High School Athletic Association has announced their Hall of Fame Class for 2017.

Leading the way are legendary head coaches Bill Kramer from Naples High School in Collier County and retired Suwannee and Hamilton County head football coach, Mike Pittman.

Kramer, who still currently coaches, was the first head football coach in Southwest Florida to win a state championship leading the Golden Eagles to a title in 2001, his fourth season at the school. He also guided Naples to two more state championship appearances in 2003 and 2007, with the 2007 team bringing home Naples’ second state championship. Currently, Kramer currently has a 186-45 record at Naples. Prior to coaching at Naples, Kramer got his coaching start at American Senior High in Hialeah where he coached woman’s track and field and was an assistant coach for football for many years. Kramer coached the American Patriots football team from 1995-1997. Kramer is also a 2015 Florida Athletic Coaches Association Hall of Fame inductee. Read Kramer’s full FHSAA Hall of Fame bio here.


Pittman, who retired from coaching football in 2014, was also selected to be part of the 2017 FHSAA Hall of Fame Class as he became the first coach to lead a team to win four consecutive football state championships. It is a feat that has only been matched four times by other programs (North Florida Christian, Booker T. Washington, Miami Central and Jacksonville Trinity Christian). Pittman is also only one of three head football coaches to win four consecutive state championships (the other two coaches are Tim Cokely and Verlon Dorminey). Pittman lead the Bulldogs to a 92-37 overall record from 1985-1996 and also guided Hamilton County to three playoff appearances where he retired from coaching in 2014. Pittman is a 2013 Suwannee High School Athletic Hall of Fame inductee. Read Pittman’s full FHSAA Hall of Fame bio here.

Other inductees in the 2017 FHSAA Hall of Fame Class include (from the news release):

  • Vassar Carlton, a student-athlete considered one of the most dynamic athletes in Brevard County history. The former Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court lettered in football, basketball, and baseball from 1926-31 at Cocoa High School.
  • Ernie Chatman, a legendary coach who found success in five sports over five decades in Hernando County. The 1997 FHSAA State Championship winner was named the St. Petersburg Times Coach of the Year 19 times.
  • David Jarrett, an official from the East Coach Officials Association in Palm Beach County who has earned a whopping 24 state final assignments in the past 25 years. The former NFHS Florida High School Football Official of the Year has worked 12 state championship games since moving to Florida in 1985.
  • Michael Parks, an official from Crestview who has umpired in the FHSAA State Series for baseball from 1996-present. The leader of the Miracle Strip Officials Association has also been selected to work four football state championship games.
  • Mark Schusterman, a softball coach who has won six state championships, made 11 Final Four appearances, brought home 13 regional titles and captured 29 district crowns. Schusterman was instrumental in helping the state of Florida transition from slowpitch to fastpitch softball.
  • Brian Wheatley, a four-time state championship coach in volleyball who has led Venice High to 16-consecutive 20-win seasons. Wheatley has had 17 former student-athletes become coaches following their playing days.

The induction ceremony will take place in Gainesville on Sunday, September 17 at the University of Florida Hilton Hotel.