maxwellThe Maxwell Football Club released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Maxwell Award, which is awarded to the college player of the year.

The Maxwell Award is named after Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, who was a former college player and official in the early 1900’s. Maxwell was also a sportswriter and editor for the Philadelphia Public Ledger, according to the Maxwell Football Club.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Maxwell Award preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Dri Archer RB Kent State Venice
Blake Bortles QB Central Florida Oviedo
Teddy Bridgewater QB Louisville Miami Northwestern
Rakeem Cato QB Marshall Miami Central
Amari Cooper WR Alabama Miami Northwestern
Jeff Driskel QB Florida Hagerty
Carlos Hyde RB Ohio State Naples
Duke Johnson RB Miami (FL) Miami Norland
Stephen Morris QB Miami (FL) Monsignor Pace
Aaron Murray QB Georgia Plant
Louis Nix III DT Notre Dame Raines
Branden Oliver RB Buffalo Miami Southridge
Sammy Watkins WR Clemson South Fort Myers
James White RB Wisconsin St. Thomas Aquinas