Mackey_TrophyThe Friends of John Mackey have released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Mackey Award, which is awarded to the nation’s most outstanding tight end.

The Mackey Award is named after John Mackey, who was only the second true tight end to be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, according to The Friends of John Mackey website.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Mackey Award preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Gerald Christian TE Louisville Dwyer
Nexon Dorvilus TE Florida Atlantic Miami Norland
Jeff Heuerman TE Ohio State Barron Collier
Gabe Holmes TE Purdue St. Thomas Aquinas
Gator Hoskins TE Marshall Eastside
Nick O’Leary TE Florida State Dwyer
Beckett Wales TE Syracuse Venice
Clive Walford TE Miami (FL) Glades Central