bednarik-awardThe Maxwell Football Club released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the college defensive player of the year.

The Bednarik Award is named after Chuck Bednarik, who was a three-time All-American at the University of Pennsylvania.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Bednairk Award preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix S Alabama Dr. Phillips
Andrew Jackson LB Western Kentucky Kathleen
Timmy Jernigan DT Florida State Columbia
Christian Jones LB Florida State Lake Howell
Lamarcus Joyner S Florida State St. Thomas Aquinas
Khalil Mack LB Buffalo Fort Pierce Westwood
Louis Nix III DT Notre Dame Raines
Calvin Pryor S Louisville Port St. Joe
Loucheiz Purifoy CB Florida Pine Forest
Ryan Shazier LB Ohio State Plantation
Leonard Williams DE USC Mainland