nagurski_awardThe Charlotte Touchdown Club  has released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is named after Bronko Nagurski, an All-American defensive tackle and fullback in 1929, according to the Charlotte Touchdown Club. He went on to play for the Chicago Bears and is member of both the College and Pro Football Hall of Fame’s.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Ricardo Allen DB Purdue Mainland
Tre Boston DB North Carolina North Fort Myers
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix DB Alabama Dr. Phillips
Andrew Jackson LB Western Kentucky Kathleen
Timmy Jernigan DL Florida State Columbia
Christian Jones LB Florida State Lake Howell
Lamarcus Joyner DB Florida State St. Thomas Aquinas
Aaron Lynch DL South Florida Island Coast
Khalil Mack LB Buffalo Fort Pierce Westwood
Louis Nix III DL Notre Dame Raines
Loucheiz Purifoy DB Florida Pine Forest
Ryan Shazier LB Ohio State Plantation
Leonard Williams DL USC Mainland