butkusawardThe Butkus Foundation has released its preseason watch list for the 2013 Butkus Award, which is presented to the nation’s best linebacker.

The Butkus Award is named after Dick Butkus, a former Chicgao Bears Hall of Fame linebacker, according to the Butkus Foundation. Butkus played in eight consecutive Pro Bowls.

The winner will be announced on December 12 at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.


Florida HS Football Alumni on the 2013 Butkus Award preseason watch list:

Name Position College High School
Jeremiah George LB Iowa Clearwater
Andrew Jackson LB Western Kentucky Kathleen
Christian Jones LB Florida State Lake Howell
Khalil Mack LB Buffalo Fort Pierce Westwood
Ryan Shazier LB Ohio State Plantation