GAINESVILLE – In an effort to find an official name for the FHSAA Football State Championships, the FHSAA set out two weeks ago in launching the #NameTheTradition contest, which involved fans of Florida high school football submitting names.

After having over 425 entries submitted to the FHSAA, the final five final finalists were selected from a panel of blue ribbon prep sports writers around the state (for disclosure, I was asked to be on the panel and graciously accepted).

The Final Five Finalists for the #NameTheTradition Contest include:

  • Drive To December
  • Gridiron Glory Series
  • The Great Eight
  • Destination December
  • Stairway to State

Fans can vote from now until Friday May 13, by visiting or clicking here to vote. Only one vote per person/email address is accepted.

The FHSAA plans on announcing the new official name of the FHSAA Football State Championships on Monday, May 16.