11 of Florida’s high school football alumni athletes have found their way on to the 2016 watch list released today for the Bednarik Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Bednairk Award, which has been presented annually since 1995, is awarded to college football’s best defensive player for the season. The award is named after Chuck Bednarik a former collegiate and professional American football player.

Here are the athletes from Florida that made the watch list.


Position, Name, College, High School

DE Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss, University Christian
DE Trey Hendrickson, Florida Atlantic, Apopka
S Eddie Jackson, Alabama, Boyd Anderson
S Derwin James, Florida State, Haines City
LB Keith Kelsey, Louisville, Gainesville
CB William Likely, Maryland, Glades Central
S Marcus Maye, Florida, Holy Trinity
S Matt Milano, Boston College, Dr. Phillips
CB Deatrick Nichols, South Florida, Miami Central
DE DeMarcus Walker, Florida State, Sandalwood
LB Anthony Walker, Northwestern, Monsignor Pace

Award semifinalists will be announced on October 31, while finalists will be announced on November 22 with the award winner being presented on December 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.