88 of the college football’s defensive standouts were identified this morning when the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list for the upcoming season was released. That list included 10 players who played high school football right here in Florida.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which has been presented annually since 1993, is presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.. The award is named after Bronko Nagurski, who played football for the Minnesota Gophers and the Chicago Bears.

Former Apopka and Tampa Bay Buccaeers DT Warren Sapp (Miami), former Taravella LB Dan Morgan (Miami) and former Miami Jackson LB Elvis Dumervil (Louisville) are all past winners from Florida.


Here are the athletes from Florida that made the watch list.

Position, Name, College, High School

DE Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss, University Christian
DB Eddie Jackson, Alabama, Boyd Anderson
DB Derwin James, Florida State, Haines City
DB William Likely, Maryland, Glades Central
DB Shawun Lurry, Northern Illinois, Dwyer
DB Marcus Maye, Florida, Holy Trinity
DB Fabian Moreau, UCLA, Western
DB Ahmad Thomas, Oklahoma, Miami Central
LB Anthony Walker, Northwestern, Monsignor Pace
DE DeMarcus Walker, Florida State, Sandalwood

Trophy finalists will be announced on November 17 with the trophy winner being presented on December 5 at the 2016 Award and Presentation Banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C..