Connect with us

Broward Region

Late Stoneman Douglas coaches to be honored by ESPN at the ESPY awards

Help support the No. 1 Independent high school sports website in the State of Florida by becoming a FRIEND of for as little as $3.00 per month by clicking here.

PARKLAND, Fla. — ESPN is breaking tradition this year with their ESPY awards by awarding the Best Coach Award posthumously to the three Stoneman Douglas High coaches who died while protecting students at the school during the February 14 tragedy.

The award, which was first announced by ESPN on Twitter Wednesday morning, will be awarded to the families of fallen heroes Aaron Feis, assistant football coach; Scott Beigel, cross country coach; and athletic director Chris Hixon.

ESPN said in a news release that the award had previously gone to coaches strictly for their work on the field.

The award will be received during the show on July 18.




More in Broward Region