Jump to content

  • Announcements

    • Joshua Wilson

      Rules of the Forums   09/02/2017

      Please be sure to read the rules of the forums. This is only to help all of us have a good time and we want to keep this board as fun as possible. 
    • SportsNut25

      Talking Other Sports   11/08/2017

      For those interested in talking about other sports, you can talk about them here. 
Sign in to follow this  

Florida's Ultimate One-Hit Wonders

Recommended Posts

Only 4 FL HS teams have won a single FHSAA state football title and failed to win at least 10 playoff games in their school histories. 

Blake(3 p/o wins)-After traveling to Columbia and winning in the semis, Blake went on to defeat Leesburg to win the Class A title in 1969.  Has appeared only once in the playoffs in the past 50 years, losing 31-0 to Crystal River in the first round in 2000.  

Westminster Academy/Fort Lauderdale(6 p/o wins)-Led by hs qb phenom Danny Kannell(who went on to qb at FSU), won 6 playoff games between 1989-1991.  Won the 1990 Class A title in 1990, defeating University Christian 6-3 in one of the lowest-scoring title games in FHSAA history.  In 1991, UC returned the favor, defeating WA in the title game.  WA has not won a playoff game since, and has only appeared 3 times (97, 99 and 01).

Cardinal Mooney(9 p/o wins)-Won the Class A title in 1972, winning 18-13 at Wewahitchka.  Since then, CM is 7-15 in playoff games and has never advanced past the third round.  After winning their title, it took them 27 years to win another playoff game.  

Hollywood Hills(9 p/o wins)-South FL coaching legend Dick Saltrick led the Spartans to the 1973 Class 4A title with a win over Raines.  HH traveled to Orlando and beat Edgewater in the semis.  Since then, HH is 5-13 in playoff games and has never advanced past the second round.   The Spartans have only won 2 playoff games in the past 25 years. 


...some others worth mentioning:

Northview-1 title(2012) and 10 playoff wins

Miami Edison-1 title (1970) and 11 playoff wins

Chiefland-1 title (1997) and 11 playoff wins 


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Apalachicola fielded a team from the 1930’s until 2006 when they merged with Carrabelle High to make Franklin County 

In 1968, they won the class C title when they only had to win 2 games to win the title. Beat Cardinal Mooney 26-0 then Moore Haven 22-0. They might be the only team who can say they shutout all their opponents in the playoffs. Lol. 

After that, from 1969-2006 they only made the playoffs twice and lost both times 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Buchholz won the title in 1990 and since 1997 they are 4-12 in the playoffs. 

Outside of getting crushed by FWB in the semis in 95, they have been routinely bounced in the early rounds, or just missed the playoffs altogether 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Here’s a good one. 

Ernest Ward won the class A title in 1979 beating Aucilla, Jax UC, and then Benjamin in the title game. 

From 1963, all the way up until 1994 when they combined with Century to make Northview they only make the playoffs once going 1-1

Ultimate one hit wonder 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this