Jump to content

48 Columbia vs Madison County 24 final

Recommended Posts

11 minutes ago, Dorsey Reaves said:

Man sounds like Madison don’t stand a chance this year against 7a lake city they gonna beat lil ol 1a madison ha y’all be happy as when y’all beat img just hope we get a fair game with yalls refs

We never get favorable calls with refs but our local officials are generally fair


Biggest question is how will we handle our qb being out this week but backup did enough to hold lead last night 



Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Posts

    • Of those 100+ schools that opened since 1992, only 13 have managed to win a region title. Here they are with the year(s) they won a region title.  In parentheses after each is the county where the school sits.  Those with an asterisk won a state title.  An interesting stat...only one larger school that has opened over the past 25 years has won a state title...Flanagan.  And as everyone knows, Flanagan was a bit of a one hit wonder. Although they have never won a state title, the real outlier in the bunch is Bartram Trail.  Arguably no school that has opened over the past 25 years has been so consistent.  BT opened in 2000 and has only missed the playoff a few times.  They have won 23 playoff games during that span.  It begs the question...what is it about Bartram Trail that enabled this school to be so successful so quickly?  Bartram Trail 2007, 2011, 2013, 2017 Belleview 2000 (Marion) Braden River 2015 (Manatee) Cypress Bay 2010, 2012 (Broward) Durant 2003 (Hillsborough) *Flanagan 2014, 2015 (Broward) *Northview 2010, 2011, 2012 Ponte Vedra 2016 (St Johns) Steinbrenner 2019 (Hillsborough) Viera 2015 (Brevard) Wekiva 2017 (Orange) West Florida 2017 (Escambia) Wharton 2002 (Hillsborough)      
    • Of the 61 "newer" schools listed above in 3 of Florida's major metro areas,  6 have won a region title(listed below)  and 12 have won 5 or more playoff games since opening.  21 of the teams have never won a playoff game.  It would likely be safe to say that the majority of these 61 teams have struggled to be consistently competitive.   Wharton 2002 Durant 2003 Cypress Bay 2010, 2012 Flanagan 2014, 2015 Wekiva 2017 Steinbrenner 2019
    • Let's see how 17 "newer" teams in the Orlando metro area have fared.  After the name of each school is the year the school opened, the number of playoff wins since then, and their record from 2019.     Lake County East Ridge(8A) 2002     6 p/o wins (4-4 this season) Lake Minneola(6A) 2011     5 p/o wins (9-1 this season with 3 playoff wins) South Lake(7A) 1993     1 p/o win (4-4 this season)   Orange County Cypress Creek(8A) 1992     0 p/o wins   (0-9 this season) East River(7A) 2009     1 p/o win (5-3 this season with 1 p/o win via forfeit)  Freedom(8A) 2003     0 p/o wins (2-4 this season) Lake Nona(8A) 2009     0 p/o wins (4-4 this season) Ocoee(8A) 2005     0 p/o wins (3-5 this season) Olympia(8A) 2001     2 p/o win2 (5-5 this season with 1 p/o win) Timber Creek(8A) 2001     5 p/o wins (7-2 this season with 1 p/o win) Wekiva(8A) 2007     7 p/o wins (6-4 this season with 2 p/o wins) Windermere(8A) 2017     1 p/o wins (2-7 this season with 1 p/o win)   Osceola County Celebration(Ind) 2003     0 p/o wins (4-6 last season when they were in 8A) Harmony(Ind) 2004     2 p/o wins (2-8 last season when they were in 7A) Liberty(Ind) 2007     0 p/o wins (1-9 last season when they were in 7A)   Seminole County Hagerty(8A) 2005     1 p/o win (5-5 this season with 1 p/o win) Winter Springs(7A) 1997     1 p/o win (0-8 this season)
    • For some perspective, ST Thomas Aquinas was 8-2 in 1988, but did not make the 4A playoffs.  Eventual state champion Dillard won the district title over STA in the ninth game of the season that year and only the Panthers advanced.  In 1978, the Raiders went 9-1, but lost the district title to Ely in the ninth game of the season and did not make the playoffs.  If a 9-1 team today did not make the playoffs, some folks would go off the deep end.  District games back then were huge when the sole playoff berth was on the line....and winning a district title could be a source of great prestige.  I miss that today.           
    • ColumbiaFan...the norm in the 70's and 80's was larger districts and only the champion advanced.  For instance, this was a 3A south FL district in 1981.  Playoff teams from such districts did not have losing records!    Chaminade Ely Fort Lauderdale Hallandale Northeast Pompano Beach Stranahan St Thomas Aquinas Concerning records, please see the post below.  Though records do not always tell the story of a team, the odds of a team with a marginal record making a deep playoff run are, relatively speaking, very small.    
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Popular Contributors

  • Create New...